Author Spotlight: Brian G. Murray

Hello readers and misfits! We’re back with the oddest author interview segment on the internet! Today’s contestant is Brian G Murray…so come one down! You’re the next contestant on the Price is…wait, that’s not my show. Still, sit your ass down, sir. Let’s talk some books.

Forgotten Hero is currently out on the market, tell the folks ‘cross the internet what it’s about.

Forgotten Hero is an epic heroic fantasy novel with good versus evil.  Our heroes have to try and stop a Darklord from completing a ritual to resurrect his master and plunge the world back into darkness.  But, here’s the thing, one of the heroes is a character called Death and he used to be evil’s champion. As the reader, you need to try and work out who is Death and who’s side is on.  Swords, sorcery, battles, intrigue, mysteries, love, romance, heroes, villains and mayhem – what more do you want?

51vxyxtojil

Want to add this goodie to your reading list? Buy it RIGHT HERE.

 

The sequel I’ve heard is scheduled to come out June 17. That’s like a month before Vampire novel hits. You tryin’ to steal my thunder? Wanna take this out outside? Meet me outsie, how baw dat? Shudder Ugh, sorry, can’t believe I went there. Ok, seriously, tell us a little about the sequel and why the people need to get on book one so they can enjoy this little gem.

Book 2 – Dark Times follows on exactly where Forgotten Hero ends and continues the story.  I throw our heroes into even more perils, forcing them to travel to the belly of hell itself.  Will they stop the Dark One from returning?  He need Death to do what Death does best and that’s to kill, but will he?  I do not want to say much more and give spoilers, but this book continues to take the reader on an epic ride with so many twists and turns.

Stop strangling, me I will not give any spoilers – Arggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

 

Now, what people might not know is that you are quite the comic book collector. How many books do you have in the collection and what’s the one comic you’d follow Frodo across Mordor to try and get back? Yes, which book is “your precious?”

I have about 15,000 comics, loads of statutes and graphic novels.  My precious, well, it had been X-Men issue 1 from 1963, but I have that now.  But being a completest, I collect all variants for the Uncanny X-Men series, and the bane of my life and my new Precious is Uncanny X-Men 510 partial sketch cover – that bugger is selling for several thousand dollars per copy – kidney or comic!?!?!??!

uncannyx-men510sketch

You know, that’s mighty pretty. I can see why he likes it.

 

Okay, let’s piss off the fanboys: Marvel or DC and why?

Marvel all the way – I was brought up on the X-Men and Spider-Man so will always be a Marvel fanboy.  Many of my friends at the time read DC, Batman and Superman, but I never got into them.  Oh, and confession time – I do read a little DC, some Batman occasionally.

 

I know you’re a huge X-men fan. Which of the movies made you fanboy and which could you have done without?

I was a fanboy long before the movies so I still hold the first X-Men movie in high regard. At the time we criticized the idea of Jackman being Wolverine – ‘He’s too fucking tall’, but give the actor kudos, he made the character his own – BUT he is STILL TOO FUCKING TALL!!!!!!

774063-wolverine_a_02

“Say it to my fucking face, bub.” Hmm, appears Wolverine may not approve…

 

Jean Gray: Cyclops or Wolverine? Who’s her true love?

I am an old romantic, and though Wolverine is my favourite character, it has to be Jean Grey and Cyclops – I mean the covers to Uncanny X-Men 136 and 137 says it all. Oh and to be pedantic – it’s Grey not Gray – don’t shoot me – I am a geek!

ico000998_1-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_

f3c62b6f66317c8d27565cd3d126a773

I don’t know. She seems to be digging on his Weapon-X right here…

 

Who’s your favorite comic book character of all time?

My favourite comic book hero is Wolverine, the best at what he does, and fuck Marvel for killing him off.

4161589-1

One of the true greats has fallen…

 

Okay, who was more annoying in the beginning: Jubilee or Kitty Pryde?

I would say Jubilee as a reader I went through all the young girl getting powers with Kitty Pryde, so going through it a second time irked. 

6835f23332c3bb84145a2af9efd43de8

Annoying young girl getting powers A or B? YOU make the call.

 

What’s your all-time favorite comic book story arc? Which story arc can you just not stand and don’t understand why people love it?

Favourite all time comic book story arc, there are a few and some non-X-Men related ones, but if I have to pick one it’s – Days of Future Past – when I first read that story I was blown away.  Story I cannot stand has to be Batman – The Dark Knight Returns, I did not like it when I first read it and still do not like it – and yes I have tried reading it on numerous occasions but now given up. And before you ask, yes I do own the original first printings and the signed hardcover graphic novel – why . . . they are a must have. 

x-men_v1_141

dark_knight_returns

Do you agree or disagree on these picks, people?

 

Do you think it hurts comic books that the reader knows people never stay dead? I mean, how many heroes of they killed off just to bring back later? Isn’t it almost a cheap ploy just to get sales?

Too right – if a character is dead then they are dead – but the issues is that Marvel for example has so many fucking continuities, it was getting hard to remember in which one the character is dead or alive.  At the moment Wolverine is dead, but for how long – opps he came back as Old Man Logan.  The bigger issue for me – oh prepare for the rant – is the number of re-starts, i.e. number 1’s and then the number of fucking variants they have for each issues.  Collecting modern comics, as a completest is getting more and more expensive. . . Breathe, I need to remember to breathe – bastards! I have stopped buying new issues because of this – but that’s a whole new level of me ranting!!

 

Okay, I’m going to say some comic book character names. You tell me what comes to mind immediately.

 

Cyclops?

Leader – true X-Men

Wolverine?

Best at what he does

Iron Man?

Pussy in a metal suit

9617853

e31

Batman?

Class act

Deadpool?

Give me patience

 

Last comic book question, how fucking awesome was the Deadpool movie?

I have to say I am NOT a fan of Deadpool – I am collecting all Mutant related comic book titles so Deadpool falls within that bracket, but the movie. . . fuck yeah, I have not laughed so much in years.  They finally found a role Ryan Reynolds can play without fucking it up – looking forward to the second movie.

 

Last question of the interview: if you could spend the day with Stan Lee, what would you talk to him about?

I would talk to him about the early days of Marvel, with the legends of the comic world, Jack Kirby and Steve Ditko, how they created the characters and how they developed the stories.  I would also like to know what character did not make the cut and why – he must have so many character that did not make it to print – that would be fascinating. 

16729667_1788378894816937_1810530873_n

Want more Brian Murray? Find him below:

Website – http://www.briangmurray.com

Facebook – www.facebook.com/briangmurrayauthor

Amazon page – www.amazon.com/author/briangmurray

Publisher – http://www.burningwillowpressllc.com

 

Leave a Reply

