Author Spotlight: J.K. King

phoenix

I have me an old friend, author J.K. King who just stepped out of the shadows to write his first piece, an autobiographical short about his childhood and early 20s. Mind telling the readers what made you write this?

Well, I was raised in the Bible Belt in a Christian conservative home. Like some other people, I had the Christian faith used as a tool to beat me down and abuse me. I’m not ashamed to admit that this led to several suicide attempts in my life, and I was hoping this book might be able to help others who are in a similar position.

Sounds like you went through a lot. Was it hard to open up about this subject?

Yes and no. I didn’t want my life put up for the whole world to see. This wasn’t a “hey, look at me!” kind of thing. It was simply meant to reach out to others who might be thinking of suicide. If I had been successful on one of my many attempts, I would have missed out on a lot. I don’t want anyone else to miss out either. 

You said you didn’t want the whole world to see your private life, yet you wrote an autobiographical piece. I assume that means you’re writing under a pen name?

Yes. Both for my own privacy and to not disrespect the dead. I don’t see the point in ruining someone’s name after their dead, even if they did put me through a living hell. 

Where can readers find your book and are you looking to do any more writing?

Right now my short piece is on Amazon for free for the next few days. I’ve considered writing more, but I haven’t made my mind up yet. If the spirit moves me, then yes, I’ll write more.

If you’re interested in reading J.K.’s story, you can find it HERE.

 

Leave a Reply

