A Few Tiny Things I’ve Figured Out Writing

Writing is a passion for many of us.  You’re probably here because you’re either a writer or a lover of reading (whether it be blogs or books or just whatever).  Many of you don’t know this, but I’ve only writing seriously for about fifteen months.  Sure, I spent most of my life doodling stories or writing poetry, but I didn’t try to get into the writing game as a real author until last year.  Here’s a few things I’ve learned.

1–Don’t get discouraged if you get a rejection letter.  We all get rejection letters and most places don’t give explanations, they just sent their regrets and send you on your way.  Your piece of writing may have been “this close” to being accepted, but maybe they didn’t like this one piece of the work, or you didn’t go into enough details with your environment, or maybe you rushed the horror instead of giving them the slow build they wanted.  There’s a thousand reasons someone could say no to you, but don’t let that stop you from writing.  Practice makes perfect, and when you get that first acceptance letter you’ll feel like you’re on top of the world.

2–Never, ever, ever use “vanity publishers.”  These are publishers that “If you’ll send us X amount of money we’ll make your dreams come true and publish your book!”  They are rip offs and they are frauds trying to get your money.  Look for Indy publishers, there are tons out there (and good ones at that), and try your luck with them.  A couple I’ve found that I would highly recommend are:

Burning Willow Press:  http://www.burningwillowpressllc.com/

The Dragon’s Rocketship Publishing:  http://tdrpublishing.com/

These are two that I personally use and they’re great.  They might serve the genre you write but there are others out there that do.  Look them up!  Do research!  Always be on the hunt for places to go!

3–For me, before jumping into my novel, I wanted to test my skills writing shorts.  The payout for a lot of places accepting these isn’t usually that great, BUT it’s a great way to cut your teeth.  Horror Tree provides a great list of places looking for ALL kinds of story submissions.  Their web address is the following:  http://horrortree.com/category/ongoing-submissions/

And if you’re into horror, the place I found my first home writing was Devolution Z magazine.  Their address is here:  http://devolutionz.com/

Most of all, don’t give up.  If writing is your passion, WRITE!  Don’t do it for the fame!  Don’t do it to be “the next Anne Rice,” do it because you love it.  I hope some of these links help  you out and that I might be seeing some of your work in print soon!

 

JMW2/Mikey

Leave a Reply

