Back Alley Brawl

I could tell Sadie was starting to get sleepy. She positioned herself so that she had her head laying in my lap. Gazing up at me, she asked, “So what happened when you went back two days later?”

“Well, before we went back, some of Fats’ gang decided to pay us a little visit down at the soup-kitchen. I was tossing some trash out in the back alley when I heard the rattling of chains and the smashing of baseball bats up against the dumpsters. By my count, there were at least seven of them, and from the look on their faces, my guess was that they hadn’t come looking for a hot meal.”

Leave a Reply

