Sometimes, you just can’t seem to say ‘no’ to a pretty face

The argument in my head resumed. I clenched my fists, knowing what I should do, but I just didn’t care anymore. I pulled away from her. “No, I’m not going to kill you. I am in your debt for the help you offered with out little fanged friend downstairs. I simply can not repay your kindness with such a heartless act. I may be a Vampire but there are things even I won’t do. You will live to see another day, but you need to get out of here now! Take your things and forget any of this ever happened. For your own sake, I beg you! Get out of here!”

She stood her ground, twisted her head to the side and smiled. “Are you trying to push me away for my own good?” She blushed and rocked from side to side. “That’s actually sorta sweet!”

She seemed completely oblivious to the danger she was in. “Please, just take your things and…”

She cut me off mid-sentence and extended her hand. “My name’s Sadie. If you’re going to force me to leave you might as well ought to know my name.”

Once again, I felt myself falling under her spell. “Sadie?” I asked. “That’s not a name you hear very much anymore.”

Sadie rolled her eyes. “You’re tellin’ me! My mom was either a fan of The Beatles or a fan of Charles Manson. She either had excellent taste in music or terrible taste in men, and judging from the few boyfriends I remember her having, I think it was the latter. In either case, I got saddled with the name.”

I smiled. “Well I rather like it. ‘Sadie’ is a nickname for Sarah and I knew quite a few girls named Sadie when I was a mortal, though known were quite as intriguing as you are.” Shit! I can’t believe I just said that out loud.

Sadie’s cheeks turned a rosy red and she wagged her finger in my face. “Now, now, none of that mushy shit, but thank you nonetheless.”

I snapped out of the spell I was under and remembered what I was supposed to be doing. “Look! As much as I’d love to continue this, you really need to get your things and leave! I shouldn’t even be doing it, but I owe you that much. They’re already going to kill me for murdering that Pureblood. Who cares if letting you live is a death sentence as well? What are they going to do? Kill me twice? So please, just gather up your things and get out of here. There’s no reason we both have to die over this.”

I was being as serious as I could be and Sadie stood there giggling at me. She was giggling, for Christ’s sake! She just swayed to and fro petting the cat, acting as calm as she could be. It was like she was an entirely different person. I couldn’t believe this was the same girl who called the Pureblood Vampire a ‘cock-sucking thundercunt’ just a few minutes earlier.

Scratching my head, I asked, “Why is it you were screaming at me just a few moments ago and now you’re acting sweeter than a Georgia peach towards me?”

Sadie crinkled her nose. Her eyes seemed to sparkle with a light brighter than any I had ever seen. “It was something you said. I know how crazy this is going to sound but I think I know you.”

“I highly doubt that. I most certainly think I would remember someone like you. Just what makes you think that you know me?”

Sadie looked flustered. “We’ve never actually met, but I know you.” She could see the disbelief in my eyes and her frustration grew. “I know how crazy it sounds but it’s true! Since I was a little girl I’ve dreamed of a man who walked in the shadows. I never saw his face, but I always felt safe with him. I knew that he was where I belonged.”

“And just what makes you think that pertains to me?”

Sadie hung her head, but her eyes remained locked on me the entire time. She whispered, “Don’t laugh, but the man in my dreams always called me ‘darlin””

I tried to hold it back, but a snicker escaped from me. “You’re reading way too much into things. You said you felt safe with this person. If you actually knew me you’d know there is absolutely no way you were dreaming about me. I am the last person you should feel safe with.”

At first Sadie looked hurt, and then she looked angry. She stomped her feet. “God damn it you are stubborn! Fine! Just fucking fine! You know what?! You’re right! There’s no fuckin’ way you’re my Nicholas! He would never be the asshole that you are!” She held up her middle finger to me. “Go fuck yourself!”

She stormed off and that’s when it finally struck me. She called me Nicholas. I never told her my name and she called me Nicholas! “Wait! What did you call me?!”

She ignored me. There was a fire dancing in her eyes. To say she was mad would be putting it lightly. I knew it was probably best to just leave her be, but I had to know what she had said. “Did you just call me Nicholas?!”

She spun around and for a moment I thought she was going to deep fry me like she did the Pureblood downstairs. There were no flames, but heat still radiated from her voice. “Yes! I fucking called you Nicholas! The man in my dreams was named Nicholas! You gonna make fun of me now? Make fun of me for being stupid enough to even think for a minute that bullshit was real?”

She began yelling at herself. “God dammit, girl! Sometimes you are so fucking stupid!”

“Sadie…”

She apparently didn’t hear me and continued to curse herself. “Stupid! Stupid fucking girl!”

“Sadie…”

“I should have known you were just like the rest! You couldn’t be him! Nobody could be what he was in my dreams! It’s not real! It’s all just in my head!”

She looked to be on the verge of tears again. I finally had to scream to catch her attention. “Sadie!”

I was like I snapped her out of a trance. She looked at me with those big blue eyes and whispered. “What?”

“My name is Nicholas. There’s no way you could have known that, but my name actually is Nicholas.”

Sadie put her hands on her hips and rolled her eyes. “Oh please! Are you shitting me?”

“I assure you I am not. I still doubt you dreamed of me but… I just don’t know what to make of you.” She still looked at me in disbelief. “Look me in my eyes if you don’t believe me!”

She looked in my eyes. Instantly her look changed. Her eyes welled up with tears. “You have his eyes.” She reached out to my cheek with a trembling hand. She caressed my face and slid closer to me. “Are—are you real?”

I chuckled. “The last time I checked I was.”

Sadie slapped my arm and laughed. Then an angry look appeared on her face. She slapped my arm again. She wiped her eyes and seemed annoyed to have to be forcing back tears. “Just where the fuck have you been?”

I didn’t know quite what to say. “I didn’t know I was supposed to be looking for you! Plus, I still honestly think you have me confused with someone else! I’m not the man you think I am.”

Sadie smiled. “And I think you’re wrong.” She stuck out her tongue and turned away. She threw a little extra sway in her hips as she went to gather her things. “So where are we going?”

I laughed. “Who said we were going anywhere?”

She giggled. “The look in your eyes did!

She strolled back to me with her eyes locked on mine. It was all I could do not to run to her. There was just something about her I couldn’t resist. I should have known right from the start that she was going to be trouble.

I was at a crossroads. I weighed the situation from every angle and against my better judgment, I decided to do it anyway. Lord I am going to regret this! “Come on, Sadie. My car is parked outside.”

I offered my hand and when she took it, Sadie did a little curtsy. She carried the cat in her arms and led the way out of the hotel. I offered to take her bag but she swatted my hand away.

“I don’t need the fuckin’ help, but thanks anyway!” She turned and winked at me, letting me know she was intentionally teasing me. Her giggling echoed through the entire building. I was paying more attention to the hypnotic swaying of her hips than I was my surroundings and nearly tripped over some random debris in the hallway.

Sadie looked over her shoulder, smiling. “You like what you see?” I grinned ear to ear but was speechless. Sadie nearly doubled over with laughter. “Oh you fucking love it and you know it!”

I have to admit the view was exquisite. I savored every moment of it. She was perhaps what people would call ‘thick’ but she was thick in the most sinfully delightful of ways. Everything was in its proper proportion, I admired the view the entire way to the car.

Exiting to the alleyway, Sadie’s jaw dropped. “Holy shit! A vintage Mustang! Where the Devil did you get this?”

Smirking, I replied, “Let’s just say the old owner no longer needed it.”

Very calmly, Sadie looked the car up and down while petting the cat. She eventually nodded, saying, “So you killed him, huh?”

“In the most horrible ways imaginable.” To my surprise, Sadie smiled in response. She definitely had a twisted side, that much was clear, but for the life of me, I couldn’t quite figure her out. She was a beautiful bit of chaos and I was already thoroughly trapped within her web.

I opened and held the car door for Sadie. At first she seemed annoyed, even rolling her eyes at me, but eventually she smiled and seemed to appreciate the gesture. To reciprocate, she reached across and opened my door for me. I got in while Sadie’s smile glowed, filling even the darkest shadows with her light.

Sadie examined the interior of the car and bounced with excitement. “Is that a CD player?”

To be honest, I wasn’t sure. Once music moved beyond the vinyl age I had quite paying attention. “I think so.” I muttered. “I personally don’t mess with the bloody thing!”

Sadie began rummaging through her bag and produced a compact disc which she slide into silver faced device in the dashboard. As the first harmonies of Bohemian Rhapsody began to play, she curled into a ball with the still unnamed black cat lying in her lap.

As she closed her eyes she softly moaned. “Freddie Mercury, fuckin’ take me away…”

I watched as she slid into a deep sleep. A thousand thoughts raced through my mind. I had a deep feeling that she was going to be trouble, but I simply didn’t care. It was nice to not be alone for a change.

Leave a Reply

