Talon, that pivotal moment that changed everything

Pulling a tiny silhouette out of the backseat, the fat man slammed the door shut. At first I couldn’t see her, but once I laid my eyes on her, my whole world was turned upside down. If my heart still beat, it surely would have stopped. Oh my dear fucking God, I thought. That can’t be her! She’s dead! I was there! I buried her! That can’t be… that just can’t be…

I forced myself to say a name I hadn’t so much as dared whisper in centuries. “…Lizzie.”

I felt like I was looking deep into my past and staring at a ghost which had long haunted me in the back of my mind. I thought I had laid this nightmare to rest, but I was wrong—oh brother was I wrong! My sister Lizzie is someone I have always loved, but for my own sanity, I am ashamed to admit, I had tried to forget her. There was just too much pain attached to her memory. As I stood there in Spider’s yard, staring at this girl who looked just like my dead sister, I wasn’t a Vampire. I wasn’t the cold-blooded killer my Sire had raised me to be. In this moment, I was that scared seventeen year old boy, tied to a tree on Croatoan Island, watching my little sister freeze to death all over again. Staring on in disbelief, I felt a teardrop fall from my eye. It was the first time I had cried since being reborn as a Vampire.

Leave a Reply

